Farm Work

IMG_0352

Photo taken by myself

Today I volunteered to work at a farm with my school club. The work that we had to do was quite simple, but the energy it required was very depleting. All we pretty much had to was scoop up dirt from a huge pile into a big bucket and carry that bucket to spread the dirt somewhere else. While I was working, the sun was very hot and the dust from the dirt was getting all over me. Seeing all that dust reminded me of the book Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck. It reminded me of the Great Depression and how the Dust Bowl forced farmers to leave their farms to search for a new life. I feel like farmers work very hard but always end up getting screwed over by the economy. This also relates to an issue search because it is a problem that has to be fixed because without farmers, we would not be able to consume fresh fruits and vegetables.

Leave a Reply

