Lent

lent3_cam1-0-00-11-08

Image from firstprestahlequah.org

As a Roman Catholic, every year during the season of Lent, I have to sacrifice something that I enjoy doing and refrain from eating meat on Fridays. Lent is a religious season that celebrates the coming of Jesus after he made the ultimate sacrifice for us and died on the cross. The whole point of celebrating Lent is to make our own sacrifices and do good for the rest of the whole just like Jesus did. Lent lasts for 40 days and starts on Ash Wednesday and ends before Easter Sunday. For lent this year, I am sacrificing playing video games. So far I have done pretty good and was not tempted to even look at my Playstation. When I finish my homework however, I do get bored and struggle to find something else to do besides playing video games. My question about Lent is why do we have to sacrifice meat on Fridays? That is the one thing I do not understand about Lent.

Leave a Reply

