Let’s Get Specific

cgfi18yviaa4nqr

When I read the article Let’s Get Specific by Beth Johnson, I totally agreed with her about how written stuff should be very specific and concrete. For example, the samples of job applicant letters make a huge difference. The first one was very abstract and did not state details about the person’s accomplishments. The first one said: “My former employers have always considered me a good, reliable worker.” He does not include any evidence of his employers considering him as a good worker. His applicant letter sounded very unconvincing. The second one however, listed many things such as GPA, job promotions, and accomplishments that benefited the company. The second one said: ” While at Bayside, I held a part-time job in the college’s business office, where I eventually had responsibility for coordinating food purchasing for the school cafeteria. By encouraging competitive bidding among food suppliers, I was able to save the school approximately $2,500 in the ’92-’93 school year.” She includes evidence of her success and shows that she is very fit fort he job.

 

Also personal forms of writing are very important. The first love letter just stated how he loves her and stuff like that but the second one retells history between them and describes what makes him love her so much. The first one said: “I would do anything in the world for you and am hoping you feel the same way about me.” Sure it sounds sweet but its so generic. The second letter said: “Do you remember last Saturday, as we ate lunch in the park, I spilled my soda in the grass? You quickly picked up a twig and made a tiny dam to keep the liquid from flooding a busy anthill. You probably didn’t think I noticed, but I did. It was that moment that I realized how totally I am in love with you and your passion for life.” The second letter showed that her recognized her little move and loved her for her personality. The second letter seemed way more meaningful. Being specific is very important in many aspects of writing because it can convince the reader of what the writer is trying to prove.

 

Leave a Reply

