S.Q.U.I.D. Barry Science Prompt

1475692790479

I was reading the AP prompt written by John M. Barry and I really liked how he uses diction to illustrate the characteristics of scientific research. The quote that I really liked was “A shovel can dig up dirt but cannot penetrate rock. Would a pick be best, or would dynamite be too indiscriminately destructive?”. I believe this means that it takes the right knowledge and skills to effectively convey scientific research. How did he come up with that idea? I guess researching for science is like being careful? I’m not entirely sure but I do like his use of phrases and metaphors.

Leave a Reply

